Notices
991 | 997 | 996 General Porsche Water Cooled 911 Discussion Forum.

PDK - Am I the only one who thinks it sucks?

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2012 | 05:53 PM
|
Teamspeed Pro
U-Boat Commander has a reputation beyond reputeU-Boat Commander has a reputation beyond reputeU-Boat Commander has a reputation beyond reputeU-Boat Commander has a reputation beyond reputeU-Boat Commander has a reputation beyond reputeU-Boat Commander has a reputation beyond reputeU-Boat Commander has a reputation beyond reputeU-Boat Commander has a reputation beyond reputeU-Boat Commander has a reputation beyond reputeU-Boat Commander has a reputation beyond reputeU-Boat Commander has a reputation beyond repute
PDK - Am I the only one who thinks it sucks?

I test drove a 991S Cab with PDK this weekend. Although I have owned three manual tranny 911s, I thought I would give PDK a shot. I've been driving my Maserati GT MC Shift for about three years and have come to enjoy the paddles and automated clutch. The Maserati shifts instantly (100 miliseconds) when I pull the paddles. The Maserati tranny, which is the same tranny as on the F 599, is so precise. I wish I could say the same thing about PDK. . .

Never have I been more frustrated with a car. Each time I would pull on a paddle I would have to wait like 1/2 to 3/4 of a second for the gear to actually change. During that time, if I had my foot on the gas, the engine speed would continue to increase. The gear changes were fast . . . once they happened. There is just an unbearable annoying delay between the time you pull the paddle and the time the tranny actually decides to shift. Coming off the Maserati, this seems like an eternity. Even my girlfriend noticed the delay from the passenger seat. It was that noticeable.