Notices
The Team Speed Shooting Range The Guns, Ammunition, and General Personal Protection Discussion Forum.

Educate Me, 9mm vs 40S&W, HK P2000 vs P30

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2009, 12:46 PM
Teamspeed Senior Member
Chris888 has a brilliant futureChris888 has a brilliant futureChris888 has a brilliant futureChris888 has a brilliant futureChris888 has a brilliant futureChris888 has a brilliant futureChris888 has a brilliant futureChris888 has a brilliant futureChris888 has a brilliant futureChris888 has a brilliant futureChris888 has a brilliant future
Educate Me, 9mm vs 40S&W, HK P2000 vs P30

Hey there guys, im currently considering obtaining a handgun for conceal and carry purposes.

Im a complete newb when it comes to firearms only having shot a friends on occasion so I have enrolled to do a complete training course at the end of this month.

However in the mean time I have been browsing the interwebs and doing a lot of reading on the subject.

To be honest the choices are rather overwhelming and peoples opinions differ greatly.

I know the most common response to the "which gun" question is, "go shoot them both and find out which one you are more comfortable with". That however is easier said than done here in SA, its more of an order it and be happy with what you get scenario here.

So I have kind of narrowed it down to three choices. All three are HK's as Im not happy with the lack of a fixed safety on the glock.

They are:
P2000 9mm
P2000 40S&W
P30 9mm

Now the P30 is the biggest of the three according to the stats on the HK website, and it is perhaps approaching being too big for a conceal and carry, well at least in my case as I am pretty skinny

Then there are the P2000's which from the reviews that I have read, score very well. But there is a choice to be made there, 9mm or 40S&W. You obviously loose a round if you go the 40 route, 10 vs 9 but gain that extra punch (or do you? as this is also debatable).