Notices
Detailing & Paint Protection Detailing tips, tricks, and product information to keep your vehicle in showroom condition.

1972 Corvette Stingray

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2010, 05:09 PM
Teamspeed Junior Member
ST Graveyard is an unknown quantity at this point
1972 Corvette Stingray

Hello,

This is my first attempt at polishing a car, so why not try it immediately with my dream car? ;-)

This is the car :

Looks good, right?

Close up :

Some serious spider webs.

Let's start with the foaming. I don't have a foam gun, so I try doing it old school using this product :

After the foaming I did a complete wash. Then it started raining. So I stopped and continued the next day.

After the wash :

This is my range of products.

And my lamp :

My pads and DAP500 :

Let's start claying :

After claying. The claying actually made some extra scratches and marring, but the paint felt completely clean. Amazing.

This is the result after a first run with an ultra light compound and green cutting pad :

As you can see, still a lot of scratches around the lighting.

This is the result after 2 runs with a medium compound and a orange pad :

The wheelflares are not done yet, only part of the hood. It looks already pretty amazing.

These are 50/50 shots :

From the top :

The complete left side is done here :

This is me :

A final 50/50 shot :

Since this was the first time I actually did some polishing, I worked 4,5 hours on just this little part of the car. I clayed only the nose, and I polished 1/3 of the nose. I'm getting the hang of this, but it is some hard work.

I've been reading about polishing and the likes for the past year now.

If you have comments or tips, let me know.

I'll post more pics of progres soon.

Cheers,
Maarten

Last edited by ST Graveyard; 10-10-2010 at 02:28 PM.
Old 08-15-2010, 05:24 PM
DJ
Teamspeed Pro