Notices
AMG The Mercedes AMG Performance Model Only Discussion Forum.

2012 CLS63 On An Airstrip...Racing A Nissan GT-R

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2011, 01:04 PM
WSC
Teamspeed Junior Member
WSC You are a Teamspeed member that Rocks and Rolls!WSC You are a Teamspeed member that Rocks and Rolls!WSC You are a Teamspeed member that Rocks and Rolls!WSC You are a Teamspeed member that Rocks and Rolls!WSC You are a Teamspeed member that Rocks and Rolls!WSC You are a Teamspeed member that Rocks and Rolls!WSC You are a Teamspeed member that Rocks and Rolls!WSC You are a Teamspeed member that Rocks and Rolls!WSC You are a Teamspeed member that Rocks and Rolls!WSC You are a Teamspeed member that Rocks and Rolls!WSC You are a Teamspeed member that Rocks and Rolls!
2012 CLS63 On An Airstrip...Racing A Nissan GT-R

So, in my day job, I'm an automotive journalist. As you'd imagine, this comes with a few perks: the occasional press trip, getting to read Teamspeed at work without getting in trouble, etc. But by far the best one is getting to drive some amazing iron like I stole it.

Anyway, a couple months back, we happened to have the new CLS63 and a 2012 Nissan GT-R in the office at the same time, so we took them out to a secret location we don't like to talk about in order to wring 'em out a little.

And just in case you were wondering, let's just say while the GT-R's acceleration is renowned...the CLS63 does a shockingly good job keeping up.

[0-60] 1080 Horsepower Drift Session

The Mission:
To explore the limits of two of today’s most versatile high performance automobiles. Also, to hoon the everloving hell out of them.

The Cars:
2012 Nissan GT-R Premium. 530 horsepower, 448 lb-ft. 0-60: 2.9 seconds. Top speed: 196 mph. Price as tested: $91,230.

2012 Mercedes-Benz CLS63 AMG with Performance Package. 550 horsepower, 590 lb-ft. 0-60: 4.3 seconds. Top speed: 186 mph. Price as tested: $114,535.

The Location:
Top secret.

Mission Successful?
Judge for yourself.