Notices
The Team Speed Shooting Range The Guns, Ammunition, and General Personal Protection Discussion Forum.

P226 Blackwater or P229 Stainless? (sig newbie alert)

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2009, 12:58 PM
Teamspeed Senior Member
Eddie has a reputation beyond reputeEddie has a reputation beyond reputeEddie has a reputation beyond reputeEddie has a reputation beyond reputeEddie has a reputation beyond reputeEddie has a reputation beyond reputeEddie has a reputation beyond reputeEddie has a reputation beyond reputeEddie has a reputation beyond reputeEddie has a reputation beyond reputeEddie has a reputation beyond repute
P226 Blackwater or P229 Stainless? (sig newbie alert)

So I've been debating which piece to purchase, and I'm slightly torn.

First off, I am not a gun expert, but do shoot quite often, and are most fond of Sigs. Brother has several Glocks (g17c 37), and they are nice, but it would be pointless to buy another g17 or 19c.

I'm looking for a piece to mostly use for range shooting, and property defense, I don't see myself using it as a CC piece, since working in DC, and living just outside of it, it's just a pain.

The 229 stainless catches my eye because it's beautiful but seems a touch heavy, and the blackwater seems to be a popular choice among many.

I'm curious how drastic are the differences between the 226 and 229? I know the technical details, but I haven't been able to shoot these two side by side.

So on my list to decide are
226 blackwater
229 elite
229 stainless

And can someone tell me the big deal about nitron finishes? Is it a cosmetic thing or is it an anti-rust function.

Oh, and thanks Gregg for starting to help me out, hope to purchase from you.

Last edited by Eddie; 11-29-2009 at 01:03 PM.
Old 11-29-2009, 01:22 PM
Banned
SoCal is an unknown quantity at this point
I would get the 229 Elite or combat or a P220 combat. Both are sweet pistols bro.

Old 11-29-2009, 01:28 PM
Teamspeed Pro