Notices
Photography | Art Show off your artistic side! Talk about the latest gear and trends in the world of photography and fine Art here!

Portrait help needed

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2010, 12:24 AM
Teamspeed Pro
Ricky s. Photography has a reputation beyond reputeRicky s. Photography has a reputation beyond reputeRicky s. Photography has a reputation beyond reputeRicky s. Photography has a reputation beyond reputeRicky s. Photography has a reputation beyond reputeRicky s. Photography has a reputation beyond reputeRicky s. Photography has a reputation beyond reputeRicky s. Photography has a reputation beyond reputeRicky s. Photography has a reputation beyond reputeRicky s. Photography has a reputation beyond reputeRicky s. Photography has a reputation beyond repute
Portrait help needed

Hey guys.

A friend of mine has contacted me asking to take pictures of her cast for a small video she's producing. I took the offer, but I have no experience with shooting people and portraits whatsoever. So, I thought I'd read up and get as much info. as possible before I have to do the shoot in January.

Extra info/questions....
I'll be doing the shoot with a Nikon D5000 DSLR camera.

The shoot will be at her house, I'll be shooting ~15 people.

I currently own/can borrow the following lenses, which two would be the best?
Nikkor 18-55mm
Nikkor 18-200mm
Nikkor 55-200mm
Nikkor 50mm

I also have a Nikon SB-400 external speedlight, and could probably get my hands on an SB-600 and reflectors for the shoot.

I don't know what the "mood" of the pictures should be yet.

I'd prefer tips for shooting over post-processing and editing, although anything is much appreciated!

Many thanks to everyone that can help

Old 12-23-2010, 11:03 AM
Teamspeed Cigarette Racer
Location: Blue Lake Tahoe, San Francisco, Monterey and beyond