Notices
991 | 997 | 996 Turbo Porsche's Modern Day Twin Turbo Discussion Forum.

NEED HELP re driving technique/ engine characteristics long disscusion

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2009, 11:26 AM
Teamspeed's Official Brain Surgeon
brnsrgn has a reputation beyond reputebrnsrgn has a reputation beyond reputebrnsrgn has a reputation beyond reputebrnsrgn has a reputation beyond reputebrnsrgn has a reputation beyond reputebrnsrgn has a reputation beyond reputebrnsrgn has a reputation beyond reputebrnsrgn has a reputation beyond reputebrnsrgn has a reputation beyond reputebrnsrgn has a reputation beyond reputebrnsrgn has a reputation beyond repute
NEED HELP re driving technique/ engine characteristics long disscusion

I have been driving my 997 TT for about 6 months and notice some significant differences between engine performance and my 03 M5. I was looking for some " explanations" and some suggestions.

I live in a very hilly/ mountainous area. Lots of curves too. The behavior regards how to best shift. The M5 on a steep hill just requires that you let the clutch out slowly, and it just goes. However when shifting on the move, unless you match revs perfectly, the car will shudder a little as you let out the clutch. It as if the inertia of the current speed is high.

The TT is tricky on the hills. If you let out the clutch slowly it stalls. If it you touch the accelerator even a little, it sometimes shoots to 3500 rpm ...BAM, fast. I have started to let the clutch out just a tiny bit, just a hair of friction, and then gas clutch out rest of the way. Note this is only on really steep hills at lights or corners where you must stop. Also I note that shifting gears is much easier than the M5, and rev matching is not so critical. No bucking at all on 1-2 and 2-3 shifts.