Teamspeed.com

Teamspeed.com (https://teamspeed.com/forums/)
-   Health & Wellness (https://teamspeed.com/forums/health-wellness/)
-   -   Official Run Run Run Thread (https://teamspeed.com/forums/health-wellness/74730-official-run-run-run-thread.html)

vltsai 07-27-2012 10:35 PM

Official Run Run Run Thread

Cause...I figure, why not?

I got into it last Autumn just because I was running out of time and I couldn't get to a pool or hop on my bike right before work. Running offered me a quick solution that would keep me healthy in the short time that I had available to me. Since then I've been on and off, but I typically do around 15-20 miles a week (I know, I'm terrible).

A bit about me:
I swim...so my running form is weird. I pronate a lot.
I have stubby legs (well not really, but they're not exactly long).
My runs range from 3-5mi each, paced at between 8.5min/mi to 9.5min/mi.

Basically, I'm far from an expert. But, like all things I do, I want to be better. Preferably than my friends, but I'll settle for improvement.

Few questions:
How do you guys diagnose your knee pain in context of running form? I've been getting a bit of knee pain and I think it's either from concrete or overpronating.

What about overpronation? My wear pattern is showing on the outer edge of my left shoe (left leg is shorter than the other, dunno if that has anything to do with it...) and I've been trying to correct it but it ain't easy.

Increasing that distance? I can spend 4 hours on a bike, can bust out 4km in the water, but 5mi on my feet and I feel like I'm being murdered. It's not so much a cardio thing I think, but it's more of a "Holy crap, everything hurts!" thing. I want to run further...faster...but...I can't seem to do it.

Well, that's out of the way. Post up, folks!

Also, I run on these:
http://counterkicks.com/wp-content/u...-1-600x463.jpg

Aw yeah.

SoCal 07-28-2012 12:55 AM

I fawking hate running. All the SoCal does is sprints. :smilie:

Speed888 07-28-2012 01:30 AM